Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Stay Connected Blackhawks Facebook Blackhawks on Twitter Blackhawks on Foursquare Instagram Blackhawks Pinterest Blackhawks on YouTube Blackhawks Apps Blackhawks Blog Blackhawks Web Browser Blackhawks Newsletter Blackhawks Mobile
mb financial News

Blackhawks, Red Wings To Unveil Winter Classic Jerseys Oct. 25

Friday, 10.24.2008 / 9:05 AM / News
By NHL Media
X
Share with your Friends


Blackhawks, Red Wings To Unveil Winter Classic Jerseys Oct. 25
NEW YORK (October 24, 2008) – The NHL Winter Classic 2009 jerseys will be unveiled during the broadcast of the game between the Chicago Blackhawks and Detroit Red Wings on Saturday, Oct. 25. WGN-TV and FSN Detroit will broadcast the game, which begins at 7:30 p.m. CT (8:30pm ET) and marks the first time the two clubs will meet this season.

The Chicago Blackhawks and Detroit Red Wings each will wear a unique, one-time-only jersey while playing in the NHL Winter Classic 2009 at Chicago’s historic Wrigley Field on New Year’s Day.

The game will be the 701st all-time meeting of the clubs – no NHL opponents have played more regular-season games against each other. Face-off is at 1 p.m. ET/Noon CT. NBC will provide live broadcast coverage of the game in the U.S. In Canada, CBC and RDS will televise the event live. NHL Radio on Westwood One will provide coverage for radio stations across North America and NHL.com will provide extensive digital video coverage. NHL Winter Classic 2009 will be the second regular-season outdoor NHL game played in the United States and the third regular-season outdoor game in League history.