Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Stay Connected Blackhawks Facebook Blackhawks on Twitter Blackhawks on Foursquare Instagram Blackhawks Pinterest Blackhawks on YouTube Blackhawks Apps Blackhawks Blog Blackhawks Web Browser Blackhawks Newsletter Blackhawks Mobile
mb financial Features

Season Ends For Admirals

Sunday, 04.29.2007 / 9:02 PM / Features
Share with your Friends

Season Ends For Admirals

WILKES-BARRE, PA - The Norfolk Admirals' memorable 2006-07 season came to an end on Sunday evening in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.

Robert Nilsson scored with under three minutes remaining in regulation to break a 2-2 tie and give the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins a 3-2 victory in Game 6. The Penguins won the best-of-seven East Division Semifinals four games to two.

The Penguins capitalized on their fourth power play opportunity late in the first period for a 1-0 lead. Micki DuPont sent a slap shot from the high slot through traffic and past Norfolk netminder Corey Crawford at 19:37.

Joe Jensen gave the Penguins a 2-0 lead early in the second period with a slap shot from the left faceoff circle at 3:28.

Norfolk climbed back into the game with two goals late in the second period. Pierre Parenteau netted a power play goal when his shot from the left circle eluded Wilkes-Barre/Scranton goaltender Nolan Schaefer at 17:06.

The Admirals tied the game at 2-2 while skating four-on-four with 38 seconds remaining in the second stanza. Carl Corazzini beat Schaefer five-hole with a shot from the bottom of the left circle.

However, the Penguins got the deciding goal late in the final frame. Robert Nilsson found a rebound in the goalmouth and shot it past Crawford at 17:25. The goal would clinch the series for Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, as the Admirals could not score with the extra attacker late.

Corey Crawford (29 shots, 26 saves) got the loss. Nolan Schaefer (27 shots, 25 saves) got the win.

Norfolk was 1-6 on the power play. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton was 1-5.

Three Stars:

1. Robert Nilsson - WBS
2. Micki DuPont - WBS
3. Carl Corazzini - NOR