Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Stay Connected Blackhawks Facebook Blackhawks on Twitter Blackhawks on Foursquare Instagram Blackhawks Pinterest Blackhawks on YouTube Blackhawks Apps Blackhawks Blog Blackhawks Web Browser Blackhawks Newsletter Blackhawks Mobile
mb financial Features

This Week in Hawks History: Nov. 2-9

Monday, 11.03.2008 / 11:14 AM / Features
By Harvey Wittenberg  - Web Contributor
Share with your Friends

This Week in Hawks History: Nov. 2-9
Some memorable dates this week in Blackhawk history:
  • The Hawks ran a team mark of 12 road games without a loss (6-0-6) from November 2 through December 16, 1967.

  • Dennis Hull registered his first Blackhawks hat trick at Minnesota on November 4, 1972.

  • Doug Wilson set a Blackhawks record by taking 12 shots during a 6-3 Chicago loss at New Jersey on November 6, 1983.
  • Hawks Hall of Fame goalie Glenn Hall ended his NHL-record streak of playing in 503 straight games when a back injury in Boston forced him to give way to Denis DeJordy as the Hawks tied the Bruins 3-3 on November 7, 1962.

  • Also on November 7, 1992, Jeremy Roenick tallied one of his six career Blackhawks hat tricks.

  • The same date in 1987 saw Wayne Presley become the first Blackhawk to score three power play goals in a game at the Chicago Stadium in an 8-5 victory over Minnesota. The team added two more with the man advantage for a Hawks team record.

  • November 8 is great night for Hawk hat tricks; Max Bentley (1945), Dan Maloney (1972), Denis Savard (1987) and Michel Goulet (1992) have all netted three goals on that date.

  • On that same date in 1998, Chris Chelios became Chicago's all-time leader in career penalty minutes, when his two minors (in a 3-2 loss to Edmonton) gave him 1,444 PIM's with the Blackhawks, two more than Keith Magnuson (who retired with 1,442 PIM).
  • On November 9, 1969, Jim Wiste set a Hawks record with four assists in one period. Wiste also set a Blackhawks rookie record for assists (4) in one game on that night, a mark that has since been tied by Mark Lavarre and Brent Seabrook.