Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Chicago
Blackhawks
45-26-11
Los Angeles
Kings
40-27-15

27 SOG
27 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
CHI
LAK
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (48)
game preview

Blackhawks-Kings Preview

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 3:48 AM

Brian Hunter - NHL.com Staff Writer

Share with your Friends


Blackhawks-Kings Preview
Chicago Blackhawks vs. Los Angeles Kings

With the Chicago Blackhawks seemingly headed to a fourth straight loss, Patrick Sharp came to the rescue, recording his first hat trick in four years.

It may just have been a warm-up for facing the Los Angeles Kings.

Sharp, who has routinely given the Kings fits, looks to lead the Blackhawks to a seventh straight victory over Los Angeles when they visit Staples Center on Saturday night.

Chicago (13-7-3) arrived in Southern California for games against Anaheim and Los Angeles having been outscored 15-4 during a three-game losing streak. Things immediately looked bleak against the Ducks on Friday, as the Blackhawks fell behind 2-0 just 2:13 into the game. They trailed 4-2 heading into the third period before erupting for four goals in less than 10 minutes and hung on for a 6-5 victory.

"It's a big win for us because of how things have been going lately," captain Jonathan Toews said. "Over the last couple of games we've come up short, but we've worked hard. We were all over the place getting chances, and we knew the breaks would come. I feel like we are over the hump, but we've got to carry that into (Saturday's) game."

Toews, who leads the Blackhawks with 12 goals, had two goals and three assists and Sharp scored the tying and go-ahead goals in a 2:01 span in the third to complete his hat trick. Sharp's only other hat trick came in a 5-3 win over Detroit on Nov. 17, 2007.

This might come as a surprise to the Kings (11-7-4), who probably feel like he has recorded a few against them.

Sharp has 17 goals in 20 career games against Los Angeles. The only team he has scored more goals against is Columbus, tallying 20 but in 18 more games.

In his last game against the Kings on Jan. 3, Sharp had two goals in Chicago's 4-3 victory, giving him eight goals in eight games at Staples Center since 2007-08.

The Blackhawks have won six straight over Los Angeles since a 2-1 shootout loss on Nov. 28, 2009, and are 9-0-1 in the last 10 meetings.

While Chicago rallied late to win its last game, the Kings coughed up a two-goal, third-period lead in Wednesday's 3-2 overtime loss to Dallas.

Los Angeles was on the verge of winning for the fifth time in six games but was outshot 13-6 in the third period and allowed the tying goal with 21 seconds remaining in regulation.

"It's frustrating," said Anze Kopitar, tied for the team lead with 10 goals. "You got a two-goal lead going into the third period and you couldn't close it out. They kept coming. You got to give them credit, they made some plays, but on our part, we just can't sit back like that. We got to play our style and keep the foot on the gas pedal and not back out."

Mike Richards also has 10 goals, with a majority of his scoring coming in the last 2 1/2 weeks. He has scored in each of the last five games and has eight goals in the last eight contests.

Jonathan Quick stopped 35 shots Wednesday to lose his second straight start following a three-game winning streak. He has been in net for five losses during the skid to the Blackhawks, and is 2-8-1 with a 2.86 GAA lifetime against them.

Chicago's Corey Crawford, who has a 4.08 GAA in his last four games, has posted a 2.00 GAA in winning his three career starts against the Kings.

2011-2012 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 11 '12 LAK 3 at CHI 2 - SO M. Richards
Feb 25 '12 CHI 0 at LAK 4 D. Brown
Dec 28 '11 LAK 2 at CHI 0 T. Hunter
Nov 26 '11 CHI 2 at LAK 1 J. Toews
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Toews24131225+9824
M. Hossa2391423+10820
P. Kane2471623+92011
P. Sharp24101222+112021
N. Leddy2421416+3400
D. Keith2121416+1400
V. Stalberg215813+81402
A. Brunette245510-6040
D. Bolland20729-51621
S. Montador24459+2921
M. Frolik22347-5800
M. Kruger23257-2800
D. Carcillo19257+64100
B. Seabrook20167+4411
B. Bickell23325-81200
J. Mayers24224-12901
S. O'Donnell16033-4400
N. Hjalmarsson24022+7200
B. Pirri1011+0000
J. Scott13000-2400
S. Lepisto8000+4400
R. Olesz6000-1600
B. Saad2000+0000
B. Smith2000-3000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
C. Crawford2011-6-2545502.77.902
R. Emery53-1-1181433.70.874
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
A. Kopitar23101424-4241
M. Richards2310919+31110
J. Williams2331316-1810
S. Gagne217714+31602
D. Brown2341014+31822
J. Johnson23459-31233
J. Stoll23257+21200
D. Doughty18257-31010
S. Voynov11325+3221
W. Mitchell23145+2601
M. Greene23134+21400
K. Clifford23123-22500
E. Moreau23033-32000
A. Martinez16202-2220
S. Parse9202+11410
K. Westgarth9112-12100
R. Scuderi23022-11000
D. Penner14022-22500
T. Hunter11022+1200
A. Loktionov6022+0200
C. Fraser8101+1900
T. Lewis19011+0700
B. Richardson18011-41000
D. Drewiske1000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Quick199-6-4415832.12.930
J. Bernier42-2-0121043.03.885